Butternut Squash and Salmon Mac N Cheese

Butternut Squash and Salmon Mac N Cheese

I really wish Caleb likes mac n cheese as much as I enjoy making it.  I just received the latest issue of Parents magazine and inspired by all the variations on mac n cheese. I realized I have a few things at hand that can make a good combination. I served these as finger food which I am thankful that the mess is easy to clean up. Caleb liked the sauce more than the pasta. How do I know? He took a piece in his mouth and spitted only the pasta out. But since I am having so much fun making these, he will have more in different variations.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup of pasta
1/4 cup grated cheese (I used Monterrey jack)
1-1/2 butter
2 tablespoons of flour (I used wheat flour)
1-1/2 cups of whole milk (you can use heavy cream. I just used what Caleb drinks)
1 cup of mash cooked butternut squash
1/8 cup of mash cooked salmon

Direction:
Cook pasta according to the instruction on the package. I like them on the softer side so I cooked them longer.  In a pan, melt butter and add flour, cook flour for 1-2 minutes. Stir in milk and cook until it thickens and bubbles.  Add butternut squash and salmon until incorporated. Turn off the burner and stir in cheese. Add pasta.

About cindyleechan

I am a stay-at-home mom with a 14 months old toddler who is hard to please when it comes to food. I am writing this blog for two reasons - documenting my cooking and the recipes I tried and share my experience to other parents who also struggle with a little picky eater. Writing this blog is therapeutic to me, that I find an outlet to share my cooking adventure. Hope you find something helpful here.

Leave a Reply

