Steamed Pork and Tofu Meatloaf

Steamed Pork and Tofu Meatloaf

Tofu is my little picky eater’s favorite lately. To get him eat some red meat with the texture he likes, I used this “Chinese yok ban” (steamed meatloaf) method.  “Yok ban” literally means meat cake in Chinese.  It’s always steamed with meat and other ingredients such as mushroom or preserved vegetables.  It’s always soft and tasty that makes you keep wanting more with rice.  When the dish is being steamed, the meat juice keeps everything moist, flavors the entire dish, and preserves all the nutrient.  The same idea applies here when combining ground pork and tofu.

Ingredients:
half pound ground pork
1 pack of tofu (you can use firm or soft depends on the texture you prefer. Firm tofu often has more iron)
1 egg
1 teaspoon oil
2 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon corn starch
a little bit of ground white pepper (optional)

Instruction:
In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients. Break the tofu and mix well. I find it easier to use my hand. Transfer the mixture to a heat-proofed dish. I use a pie dish by Pyrex.  Steam in boiling water for 30-40 minutes. Check doneness by scoop out the center and check if the meat is all cooked through. If you have a thicker dish, it often takes longer. You can also tell by the liquid it produces. The liquid is often bubbling.  You can serve it with rice. Be careful as  it can be really hot in the center.

 

 

About cindyleechan

I am a stay-at-home mom with a 14 months old toddler who is hard to please when it comes to food. I am writing this blog for two reasons - documenting my cooking and the recipes I tried and share my experience to other parents who also struggle with a little picky eater. Writing this blog is therapeutic to me, that I find an outlet to share my cooking adventure. Hope you find something helpful here.

Leave a Reply

